Beauty · Beauty reviews · Makeup · Reviews

Boots ‘Own Brand’ Makeup

Hello everyone! I hope you’re all well. Recently I was sent a few makeup items from a couple of brands that are owned by the store Boots, and I’ve been really enjoying testing them out. Keep reading to see what I think of them and how I incorporated them into a really autumnal look…

Now I think everyone knows that Boots own the brand No7; it’s a big brand and very well known, but a lot of people don’t know that Boots also owns several other brands, including Seventeen and Natural Collection. In the little parcel I was sent I was lucky enough to receive items from both of these brands*. The first product was the Seventeen Easy On the Eye palette in ‘The Big Smoke’ (£7.99), however since I have already received and reviewed this product (here) I decided to leave it out of this post.

So with the other products I received I decided to create a really nice, autumn-inspired makeup look. I won’t go into detail on everything that I used, but instead I’ll just talk about these new products and what I thought of them.

collage1

Something else I received from Seventeen was the Instant Glow cream bronzer (£4.99). This bronzer comes in quite a sturdy plastic casing which I was impressed with, and as soon as I started to swatch it I realised how smooth and creamy it is. This means that it blends really well and, for such an affordable product, I was pleasantly surprised with this. It is quite orangey so I had to be careful not to go overboard with it, and I definitely can’t use it for contouring (although someone with a different skin tone to me probably could). Overall I really like this product and will definitely reuse it a lot in the future.

collage2

Another item I received was the Seventeen Cheek Stamp blush (£4.99) in the shade Stare-Struck. I’d never seen a product like this before; once you unscrew the sections of the pot together a sponge pops out of one end, and the other end is filled with the blush powder! I did really like the colour of this as it looks very natural on me, although it was a bit fiddly to actually get the blush onto the sponge (as you may be able to tell in the picture the powder sits quite deep within the lid). However as a compact item this is definitely handy to have, and the mirror on the lid means you can top up your blush on the go really easily. So although I did find this a bit awkward to use I did still really like it!

collage3

The final thing I was sent was this Natural Collection highlighter stick (1.99) in the shade Copper Glow. I love the colour of this and the subtle shimmer it gives, however I could probably do with one of the paler colours as on me this product also looks very orange. Therefore instead of using this to highlight my cheekbones I actually applied it onto my eyelids as a sort of cream shadow. For this time of year copper is everywhere and I think this actually looked really good blended out with a few neutral tones from my Morphe palette. The colour and shimmer it gives really makes my blue/green eyes stand out but it still doesn’t look over the top. I think I’ll have to buy one of the other highlighter colours to try out properly, because at just £1.99 they are an absolute bargain, so why not?

fullsizerender-9

Here I’ve included a quick swatch photo of these three products; at the bottom is the bronzer, then the blusher and finally the highlighter. As you can see if I had used the bronzer and the highlighter I would have probably ended up looking similar to an Oompa Loompa, however I’m still really pleased with how this look turned out. And with my new favourite top on I pretty much felt like a personification of autumn!

collage

So that’s it for this review; I hope you’ve found it interesting and that you like the look I’ve created. What are your favourite Boots brand products? Let me know in the comments! Or if you’ve never tried any do any of these seem appealing to you? As always I hope you’re all having a great day.

 

*Disclaimer: I was kindly gifted these products and all reviews written are entirely true to my own opinion. 

13 thoughts on “Boots ‘Own Brand’ Makeup

Leave a comment